A song for me

Rand and I are very fortunate to have many talented, kind, and generous friends. Many of them contributed to our wedding in significant ways, and so I am going to dedicate a post to each one of them.

Rand has been friends with Greg Klyma for a number of years. Greg is from Buffalo, but ten years ago, he quit his job and went on the road to support himself as a musician. Greg is now living in Boston, playing with Tom Bianchi. They are both wonderfully talented and entertaining on their own, but together, they are truly a force to be reckoned with.

Rand asked Greg if he and Tom would entertain our guests during contact hour, and they happily obliged.

 

If I’m not mistaken, Debbie snapped this photo of us right after the ceremony, before we went outside to take photos. We asked Greg and Tom to kick off their set by learning “You’re My Best Friend” by Queen for our recessional. It could not have been more perfect!


(photos by Debbie Ridpath Ohi)

I love this shot of Greg!

In addition to the cocktail hour set, Greg specifically asked Rand if he could do a short set for us. We decided to do this right after dinner. Greg and Tom performed four songs, and we were given seats of honor while our friends and family gathered around.

Rand was asked to join the guys to sing some backup on one of Greg’s songs, “Bean Bag Chair.”

While Rand was singing, I was visited by my friend Mary’s little boy. Isn’t he adorable?

For their last song–as a complete and utter surprise to me–they performed a song that Greg had written especially for the occasion.

Here’s what Greg had to say about it on his myspace blog:

The fourth and final song of our set was a specialty song for Rand and Erin. It was chock full of information about their courtship that Rand had provided to me by my request in emails. I figured I would know if I’d written a good song if I got the bride to cry.

The bride bawled. At song’s end, she got up, came over and gave me a hug, thanking me as she did so. I’ll have to play it for ya sometime. Maybe you’ll cry too.

Yes, bawl I did. 😉 I have the lyrics around here somewhere, which Greg presented to me at the end of the performance. I’ll post them as soon as I figure out where they are.

Here we are enjoying the song:

And I’m pretty sure I’m crying in this next one:

I got up and hugged Greg immediately.

And then we posed for a quick photo together:


(all of these photos by Walter K.)

It was absolutely amazing, and we could not be more appreciative! Thank you again, Greg and Tom!

*post title sort of borrowed from one of Greg’s songs

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

