Wedding music

We have a friend who will be providing acoustic guitar pre-ceremony music as well as accompanying my dad, who will be singing during the ceremony.

I’m trusting Ron to play anything he likes, except that I would like to choose something unique for him to play as I “walk down the aisle” as it were. Of course, we’re getting into a wee bit of a time crunch, so I may end up asking him to show me what he knows and choose something, or go with a recording for my processional.

Also, I haven’t decided what I would like to use for a recessional. This will definitely be a recording, as I don’t think an acoustic guitar will quite have the fanfare I want.

Rand has no opinion about either of these things. Absolutely zero.

Anyone have any suggestions for me? 🙂

8 responses to “Wedding music

  1. We’re using Unwritten by Natasha Bedingfield. I also like Beautiful Day by U2 or All You Need Is Love by the Beatles.

  2. If you read over previous posts, my $.02 will come as no surprise:
    Let’s Get Married by the Proclaimers

    I also love
    -Pachelbel’s Canon in D
    -Trumpet Voluntary
    -The Prayer (http://www.ourweddingsongs.com/wedding-recessional-music/the-prayer-lyrics)
    -Peter Paul and Mary’s Wedding Song (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T4_x24cVHr8)
    -Irish Wedding Song (http://www.volcano.net/~jackmearl/songs/isongs/irish_wedding_song.html)

    Good luck deciding!

  3. “Here There and Everywhere” by the Beatles is LOVELY in acoustic guitar and has a good pace for a bridal walk.

  4. Oh and our recessional was “Ode To Joy,” which I also recommend.

  5. Hey, thanks for the suggestions! 🙂

  6. I would never ever ever be able to make it though your wedding if you walk in or out to Ode to Joy. Class piano anyone? 🙂

  7. I did the same thing of letting my organist, who is a good friend, just play whatever he wants. He does this stuff for a living and plays weddings all the time so he’s more likely to know what goes best and at the same time is different.

    The only suggestion I made was for Vivaldi’s autumn since we’re getting married in October. Somehow I think it’d be funny to walk down the aisle to “Thus Spake Zathasura.”

Leave a Reply

