Something old, something new…

Something old, something new
Something borrowed, something blue
And a silver sixpence in her shoe.

This weekend, Rand and I saw a friend that we hadn’t seen in a while. He gave us an engagement card, with a little gift inside.

Most people know the “something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue” part of the rhyme, but very few people know the last line, “and a silver sixpence in her shoe.”

I had only recently read about this part of the tradition and thought, “well, I’ll only do the sixpence thing if I can get an actual sixpence.”

And now, thanks to Walter, I not only have an actual sixpence, but an actual *silver* sixpence! πŸ™‚

You can read more about the tradition here.

As far as my other items go…well, they sort of overlap, but I think I’ve figured it out.

  • My grandma’s veil is my something old.
  • The string of pearls is my something borrowed, and the earrings I’m having made my something new.
  • All of the grandchildren who have gotten married have used grandma’s garter as well, and it’s blue. ETA: AND my blue and white sorority ribbons! how silly of me! thanks to Jen for the reminder.

I really, really wish my grandma was still with us, but I’m so happy to be able to honor her this way.

For the other brides out there…what are your “something old, something new, something borrowed and something blue?” Are there any other traditions you’re incorporating?

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Something old, something new…

  1. I had an Irish five pence in my shoe πŸ˜‰

    Old… I think it was my bra or my shoes. New: dress. Borrowed: pearl necklace. Blue: ring on right hand. I wasn’t that fancy πŸ˜‰

  2. I *think* my something old was a little gold cross that had been my grandmother’s; since I was wearing another necklace, I tucked it away somewhere. Also, the diamond I’d had made into my engagement ring, which was a diamond my dad gave me whe I was younger.
    Something new was the dress (and practically everything else).
    Something borrowed was my veil, which was friend & bridesmaid Trina’s, from her own wedding.
    Something blue was a blue temporary tattoo of ‘ai’, kanji for ‘love’ (also found in one of my LJ icons and on those black chinese slippers I have), painted on my ankle by my friend corvi.

    I hadn’t heard of the sixpence then! πŸ™‚

  3. I don’t know what my something old or something borrowed will be. I’ll probably beg my friends and aunt to help me with the borrowed. For old, I’ll dig through mom’s jewelry.
    For blue, I have a bracelet and my shoes are blue. I guess I need to look for something new too. I don’t know if I’ll do the sixpence since I’m wearing flip flops.

  4. Old: dress (it was my mom’s dress — we later had it made into my daughter’s christening gown)

    New: part of my veil (the other part was a train that had been part of my mom’s dress)

    Borrowed: jewelry

    Blue: garter

  5. Hmmmm….old: pearl earrings my mother lent me, new: my dress, borrowed: a purse from my Great Aunt. It belonged to my Great Grandmother and it was from Italy (i believe), blue: ribbon which the florist wrapped around the stems of my bouquet. Overall not very exciting

  6. I haven’t got to the stage where I figure all that out yet, but I am curious about the silver sixpence. Where do you put it in your shoe so it doesn’t hurt? Is it supposed to hurt and remind you of something, maybe how poor you are going to be after the wedding is over πŸ™‚

  7. Heehee. I think the silver sixpence is supposed to bring you good fortune. I probably won’t leave it in my shoe the entire time–just for the ceremony! πŸ™‚

  8. I know this is a VERY late reply but my something old, something new things were determined at the very last moment! And in the Eastern countries we usually don’t follow this tradition but i was happy to combine east and west by doing this πŸ™‚

    My something old: My grandma’s gold earrings that are 40 years old! I was proud to wear them πŸ™‚

    My something new: The gold bracelet that my parents got for me for my wedding.

    My something borrowed: The satin bag that i was carrying around me, borrowed from my mom’s seamstress.

    My something blue: The blue small “evil-eye” bead that i was wearing attached to the inside of my gown, which, according to Turkish traditions, is supposed to protect you from the “Evil eye”! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

