Keep sharing the music!

I’m enjoying the responses so far. Please keep sharing!

Rand and I have started compiling lists of both slow songs and upbeat songs. I know my taste, but I also know that I want *everyone* to have a good time!

Here are some of my “must haves” for dance music:

Gettin’ Jiggy Wit It–Will Smith
Jump Around–House of Pain
Brown-Eyed Girl–Van Morrisson
Baby Got Back–Sir Mix-a-Lot (it’s a college thing)
YMCA–(probably on a lot of people’s no-play lists, but it’s also a college thing!)
Without Me–Eminem. I cannot explain my love for this song. I’ve already downloaded the clean version, because dude, it’s totally inappropriate
Land of 1000 Dances–Wilson Pickett
It Takes Two–MC Rob Base and DJ EZ Rock
Bust a Move–Young MC
Something by KC and the Sunshine Band…but I haven’t quite made up my mind which.
Something by ABBA (ditto)
Molly–Jackdaw (it’s a Buffalo thing)
Brick House–The Commodores
Something by Kool and the Gang other than Celebration. Maybe Jungle Boogie. Or Get Down on It.
Something by Bon Jovi…Bad Medicine, maybe.

Complete list, no…but you get the idea. I’m concerned about not having enough *older* music and *newer* music. I can see my list being sort of 70s and 80s heavy.

10 responses to “Keep sharing the music!

  1. Julie Teprovich (Ciemcioch)

    A little sinatra is a must for the slow portion….. it gets the older folks up too.

  2. Despite what I said in my first comment, I would say that we’re leaning more 80’s. Most of our friends would get up and dance to that.
    Also show tunes. We like the music from RENT. So I think Seasons of Love will definately be played.

  3. Ok, so this might sound a little cheesy, but for the First Dance or anything slow and romantic, I’ve ALWAYS adored Disney soundtrack songs, such as “A whole new world” from Aladdin, “Colors of the Wind” from Pocahontas or “Can you feel the love tonight” by Elton John, from The Lion King, one of my favorite movies of all time πŸ™‚

  4. You know how I feel about “Let’s Get Married” by the Proclaimers but I also like their “500 Miles.”

    Others:
    **”Melt with You” by Modern English
    a few by the Glengarry Bhoys
    **”That’s What I Like About You” by the Romantics
    **”Whip It” by Devo
    **”Mac the Knife” by Bobby Darrin (sp?)
    **I second the notion for some Sinatra, et al., for slower songs

    again, pretty ’80s oriented, but it’s your wedding!

  5. two suggestions: moondance – van morrison & you’re my best friend – queen. πŸ™‚

  6. Real Real Gone – VanMorrison
    OhPrettyWoman- Roy Orbison
    Something by ELO?
    Come Dancing – The Kinks
    Together Forever – Rick Astley

    Slightly more ‘modern’ stuff:
    Hey Ya! – OutKast
    We Like To Party – Vengi Boys
    Beautiful Life – Ace of Bass
    Another Night – Real McCoy

    Ditto on 500 Miles by the Proclaimers
    and YMCA [but isn’t it a high school thing πŸ™‚ ]

    And thinking of Disney, I am totally hooked on “That’s How You Know” from Enchanted but I’m not sure that it works for dancing.

  7. Ok, since Eden brought it up and you are from neer Erie, PA – “Hold My Hand, Hold My Heart” by The Chantrellines from the soundtrack of “That Thing You Do”. I would so be leaving the ceremony or entering the reception to this song. Of course, holding hands.

  8. Lamb chop, when “Without Me” comes on my iPod, I stop everything and groove the fuck OUT. I love that song too and there’s no reason to defend it.

    Two trailerpark girls go ’round the outside, ’round the outside, ’round the outside…

  9. BTW: What? No Prince?

  10. Did you just call me Lamb chop? πŸ˜‰

    And I dunno…I thought maybe playing Prince on my iPod for my wedding might be some sort of copyright violation. heehee.

Leave a Reply

