What to shoe?

As soon as I had picked out the dress, my mind began to turn to shoes. I had a lot of concerns in mind when it came to shoes. First off, I hate heels with a fiery passion. Hate. And this is under ordinary circumstances…on a day when I’ll be on my feet for hours upon hours? The thought of heels became unfathomable.

There are one or two problems with this, of course. The first is that I’m short. Really short. I stand 5’0″ tall in my bare feet. No, I’m not kidding. The second, of course, is a partner to that…the dress. Even though I ordered my dress in a petite cut, it’s bound to still be a couple of inches too long. The right shoe could potentially save me a lot of money in alterations.

Even with that in mind, the first shoes I found were these:

skechers

(Skechers.com)

I have similar Skechers and I adore them. They’re comfy, and I thought these were just cute enough to get away with under my gown. So even though they met with some outside resistance for not being “bridal” enough, I ordered them anyway.

So they arrived, and I do think they’re adorable. What they aren’t, though, is off-white.

IMG_1278.JPG

In real life, they’re sort of beige-ish. And they do come in *white*, but alas, my dress is not white.

My other concern is cost. Carrie Bradshaw I am not, and I can’t justify spending hundreds of dollars on shoes for any reason. I searched eBay, and I found a couple of things that I liked. The first was a pair of ivory mary jane ballet flats from JCrew. I did not bid on them, and someone else did.

I also like this ivory lace ballet flat.

Then I found this at target.com:

I like the slide style. I like the little bow. I like the itty bitty heel. Supposedly, they’re diamond white (the color of my dress). And so I ordered them, and impatiently await their arrival! (Best part about these shoes? $24.99) So we shall see…

Tell me about your adventures with shoes. Tell me I’m not the only one who goes through this!

6 responses to “What to shoe?

  1. How about a completely different color like blue or fusha?

  2. While I see the appeal, I don’t think it’s really “me.” I’m just not that bold. 😉

  3. Very nice blog you have here! I stumbled upon it while looking for pics of my wedding gown on people, and I like your ideas about weddings and marriage in general. And it seems like we have the exact same taste in bridal gowns! (I’m getting married in July 2008 and my absolute favorite gowns were Grace Kelly and Eleganza! I picked the latter)
    I’m at exactly this stage now where I’m looking for shoes. I ordered my gown, so do you suggest looking for shoes when it arrives? Unfortunately for me, I need to wear at least 3″ heel shoes! (I’m 5’2 but my fiancee is really tall!)

    Keep blogging!

    Hugs

    Moonie

  4. Hi there! Thanks for stopping by. I wish I could read your blog. 😉

    I’m hunting for shoes without actually having my dress…it probably would be smarter to wait, but I can’t help myself!

  5. This is a great blog…I am in the process of delving into wedding planning and all the research is starting to pay off. I enjoy reading articles and blogs like this it is heartwarming. I am planning a christmas wedding 2008 and I love all the ideas.
    http://navillus99.blogspot.com

  6. Julie Teprovich (Ciemcioch)

    Stick with your guns on the short heels…I myself chose a beautiful pair of 3″ heels (the height not being the problem) and getting married on July 1st poses a bit of a heat issue leading to a subsequent sweaty foot issue and ultimately a slip-sliding foot issue with blisters…. so I must say stick with the low heels for the wedding and maybe some flip-flops of the same height for the reception (as I did and am glad of it)

Leave a Reply

