Let them eat cake

I ordered a cake today.

There’s this lovely little dessert shop called Village Desserts that’s in my neighborhood. When I saw their $99 cake special advertised in the window, I knew I had to check it out.

It’s a 3-tier cake that serves about 100. (We’ll need more cake than that…we’ll either be ordering sheet cakes or pursuing this decorate-your-own-cupcake option we’ve been talking about…) It’s round, with buttercream frosting. I’m fine with all that.

I didn’t have something specific in mind, so I took a look at their sample cakes.

IMG_1224.JPG

The second one in (with the ribbon and flowers) is my current favorite.

IMG_1225.JPG

(cake #1) 

I’d provide ribbon in whatever color I want, and talk to my florist about flowers. I don’t necessarily like the “swag” flower look. I’d probably go with something more like this:

IMG_1226.JPG

 (cake #2)

This is more the look I’d want to go for with the flowers. I like the design too…that one’s my second favorite.

I put the order in for cake #1 (white cake with chocolate ganache filling), but I have time to change my mind. What do you think?

8 responses to “Let them eat cake

  1. Pingback: Cake! at erin-go-blog!

  2. Sooo pretty!!!
    and
    :9

  3. I like #2. $99! What a deal!

  4. Between those, I also prefer #2: the pink flowers.

  5. I agree with you re: the swag thing. Beautiful and a great deal! : – )

  6. I like the one with the spirals and red roses in the background of cake #2. But then I’ve always been a little bit contrary. 😉

    …except I’d have had purple roses.

    ANYWAY. 😀 I prefer cake #2 to cake #1.

    And now I’m hungry.

  7. Vixy–I do like that one…I just don’t think it fits in with my “look”. 🙂

  8. those cake looks luscious.

Leave a Reply

