First dance songs

Music is very important to both my FH and me. It’s part of what brought us together (an interest in the same Canadian indie singer), and we spent a lot of time sharing our collections and introducing each other to our favorite unknown artists.

One of those artists that Rand introduced to me was Jim Boggia, a singer-songwriter from Philadelphia. He gave me a copy of Jim’s CD, Fidelity is the Enemy, and I absolutely fell in love with it.

I like all of the songs on the CD, but one that really stood out for me was “That, For Me, Is You.”

“This,” I thought, “is going to be our first dance song if we ever get married.”

Of course, I didn’t share that information with him right away…it was a little too early on in the proceedings! But I kept that thought in the back of my mind until the appropriate moment. When I did bring it up, he agreed!

It was very important to me that our first dance song be something special. I didn’t want anything too trendy or overused (see “Amazed” by Lonestar, “From this Moment on” by Shania Twain, etc.). And it drives me crazy when first dance songs have inappropriate lyrics (“Every Breath You Take,” anyone?). I love our song…it’s beautiful, it’s unique, and it perfectly expresses how we feel:

What’s it like
when all your dreams come true?
When your life
is given something new
and you begin to live the way you’ve always wanted to?
That, for me, is you.

If you’re already married, did you have a first dance song? What was it? And if you’re planning a wedding, have you chosen one yet? Share!

6 responses to “First dance songs

  1. We had Let’s Get Married by the Proclaimers. It still makes me cry tears of happiness (and look at my beloved with a sappy expression) almost 13 years later.

  2. Oh, Jenn…I love that song! Excellent choice. πŸ™‚

    You have the honor of being my first commenter over here…there should be some sort of prize for that. πŸ˜‰

  3. “Your Precious Love,” by Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell. It’s an old, timeless motown song. I’m not a fan of trendy, popular wedding music. I go for the classics that will never go out of style and mean everything to us! Good luck!

  4. I agree, Jen. You can never go wrong with a classic! πŸ™‚

  5. Woo-hoo!

    This is a fun blog. I’m very happy for you and I’m happy that you’re having fun with the plans. It’s all about marrying the person you love.

  6. Hi,

    ….I did not know we had to pick a first song. Rai-An did’t bother with things like that.

    We just told the band to play something. And they did. I cannot remember what, but this ws the start of one of the best evenings of my life.

Leave a Reply

